DE Slide.png
Lake Union Publishing
0 pages
$10.99
ISBN 978-1542039024
BUY THE BOOK
BUY THE AUDIOBOOK
READING GUIDE (pdf)
A Dangerous Education
A reformist teacher. A dangerous student clique. A powerful novel about secrets and redemption set in the shadows of McCarthy-era America.

Rosemary Chivers is haunted by the choices she made as a teenager—and by those made for her by a controlling mother. Now, in the Cold War era of conformity and suspicion, Rosemary is a modern new teacher at a school for troubled girls, where she challenges the narrow curriculum meant to tame restless young minds. She also keeps a devastating secret. She knows one of the students is the child she gave up. But which one?

Ignoring warnings, Rosemary forms an impenetrable bond with the three girls who are the right age: shrewd runaway Maisie, alcohol-indulging Sandra, and overly flirtatious Jean. But these are no ordinary girls, and what begins as an effort to bring closure to her own rebellious youth soon spirals dangerously out of control.

Rosemary is prepared to do anything to find her daughter. What she isn’t prepared for are the deadly consequences that come with discovery—or just how wicked wayward girls can be.

Praise for A Dangerous Education:

“Megan Chance has done it again! A Splendid Ruin is an astonishing beautiful, richly imagined historical novel about class, betrayal, revenge, and the terrible choices a woman must sometimes make to survive in dangerous times. This is a spellbinding page-turner of a book, full of unexpected twists and turns, told in beautiful prose, and set against the devastating backdrop of the Great San Francisco earthquake. In it, Megan Chance gives us a profoundly intimate look at a city—and a woman—in ruins.”

—Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale

“An impeccably researched, brilliantly plotted novel set in Gilded Age San Francisco, a city dripping with wealth yet rife with corruption. Enter May Kimble, a poor relation to the flashy Sullivan clan, who is at first overwhelmed by the generosity of her long-lost family, but must ultimately draw on her deepest strengths to solve the devious mystery at the heart of the book. A Splendid Ruin is twisty in the best of ways, with a story that you will devour.”   

—Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue

“Somehow Megan Chance has stepped back in time and delivered a mesmerizing tale that will compel you to turn just one more page, to finish one more chapter as, along with the novel’s fascinating heroine, May Kimble, you try to learn the mystery at the heart of this powerful novel. San Francisco during the Gilded age has never been painted more lovingly or—during its devastating fire—more compassionately. An absorbing, tragic, heart-wrenching historical novel that [is] at once thought-provoking and ultimately so very satisfying. Brava!”

—M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author of Cartier’s Hope

“A thoroughly engrossing historical thriller, full of secrets and surprises. May Kimble is the kind of heroine you can’t help but root for, and the San Francisco setting—from socialite balls to opium dens—is brought vividly to life, thanks to Chance’s impeccable research. If you want to know what it was like to live through the disastrous 1906 earthquake and its aftermath, read this book!”      —Elizabeth Blackwell, author of Red Mistress and On a Cold Dark Sea

*Starred* "Chance blends a compelling story of family secrets with a riveting disaster narrative ... A thoroughly enjoyable read highly recommended for fans of Suzanne Rindell, Melanie Benjamin and Greer MacAllister."

Library Journal

 

"With a fascinating look at 1900s San Francisco, this historical gothic features a feisty woman-in-peril and a fast-paced story that will keep the reader turning pages."

Booklist

Editors' Choice "... highly recommended and immersive ... a wonderful sense of menace: duplicitous characters, family secrets and cliff-hanger chapter endings. I read A Splendid Ruin in one sitting."

Historical Novel Society

 

"A Splendid Ruin is an intriguing, absorbing, beautifully written tale by Chance that immerses you in another time and place and does a wonderful job of highlighting the lengths that one will go to for perceived power, societal acceptance, retribution, and survival."

What's Better than Books

"(Megan Chance) writes amazingly evocative and atmospheric books."

Vox Libris

Best Pop Fiction of 2021Library Journal

Autographed copies available from Liberty Bay Books
MEGAN CHANCE