The cover of A Dangerous Education
Lake Union Publishing
395 pages

$12.49
ISBN 978-1542039024
BUY THE BOOK
READING GUIDE (pdf)
A Dangerous Education
A reformist teacher. A dangerous student clique. A powerful novel about secrets and redemption set in the shadows of McCarthy-era America.

Rosemary Chivers is haunted by the choices she made as a teenager—and by those made for her by a controlling mother. Now, in the Cold War era of conformity and suspicion, Rosemary is a modern new teacher at a school for troubled girls, where she challenges the narrow curriculum meant to tame restless young minds. She also keeps a devastating secret. She knows one of the students is the child she gave up. But which one?

Ignoring warnings, Rosemary forms an impenetrable bond with the three girls who are the right age: shrewd runaway Maisie, alcohol-indulging Sandra, and overly flirtatious Jean. But these are no ordinary girls, and what begins as an effort to bring closure to her own rebellious youth soon spirals dangerously out of control.

Rosemary is prepared to do anything to find her daughter. What she isn’t prepared for are the deadly consequences that come with discovery—or just how wicked wayward girls can be.

Praise for Megan Chance:

Autographed copies available from Liberty Bay Books

Selected by Amazon's editors as a Best Book of the Month in Literature & Fiction (Bone River)

IndieNext Summer 2006 pick (An Inconvenient Wife)

Borders “Original Voices” pick for June 2008

"With a twisted ending that would rival Henry James’ finest, Megan Chance’s The Spiritualist is a true literary sleight of hand."

*Starred* "Chance blends a compelling story of family secrets with a riveting disaster narrative ... A thoroughly enjoyable read highly recommended for fans of Suzanne Rindell, Melanie Benjamin and Greer MacAllister." (for A Splendid Ruin)

Library Journal

"(Megan Chance) writes amazingly evocative and atmospheric books."

Vox Libris

Best Pop Fiction of 2021Library Journal

MEGAN CHANCE